Upper School Athletic Policies and Procedures

Tampa Prep Athletics Department’s vision is to be a catalyst for fostering and advancing the School’s core values (Honesty, Respect, Kindness and Responsibility). Student-athletes, coaches, support staff and parents are tasked to focus on successful athletic contests, as well as on their practice and support of the School’s core values.

Tampa Prep’s Upper School Athletic experience strives to professionally provide a safe, competitive, learning environment. Our Upper School Coaching Staff focuses on developing a student-athlete both technically and tactically with an eye on developing non-cognitive skills such as perseverance, teamwork, sportsmanship and competitiveness. The guidelines and procedures below will assist you in successfully navigating the year. Please reach out to the Athletic Department with any questions.

Go Red...Go Gold!

Required Forms

School forms must be submitted prior to participating in athletics. While we understand that it can be a cumbersome process to get all of this information filled out, it is necessary for us to have all of these on file at school. Students will NOT be allowed to participate in any tryouts, practices or contests until all of these forms are on file with Tampa Prep’s Health Coordinator, Betsy Zollinger. Visit www.tampaprep.org/forms to access the required forms.

Academics and Extra Help

Everyone involved with Terrapin Athletics understands the importance of academics. Hard work leads to successes in the classroom just as it does in the athletic arena. We encourage our student-athletes to attend extra help sessions with their academic teachers when needed. We want to deliver a clear message that academics take priority over athletics. It is important that the student-athlete communicate with their coaches prior to attending any extra help session. From time to time, a student-athlete may feel challenged by the time demands of their sport and their academics. When this presents itself, the student-athlete should communicate with his/her coach and advisor so they can all work together to evaluate the student’s use of time and develop a plan that can lead to success in the classroom and in athletics.

Contest Times

Contest times vary for different sports. Student-athletes and their families should take contest schedules into consideration when committing to a sport. Most contests start in the late afternoon to early evening Monday through Friday. There are some exceptions to note. Sports such as Swimming, Volleyball, Wrestling, Rowing, Track and Baseball may have contests on Saturdays. There are also instances when your child may need to leave school early. We find that Golf, Bowling, Tennis, Track and Softball have the most instances where students will need to leave school during 7th period to get to their contest/meet. All contest schedules can be found by going to our department’s athletic schedules and results page: www.tampaprep.org/athletics-schedule.

Practice Times

Practices will start during the 4:00 p.m. hour Monday through Friday. Some sports will have Saturday morning practices.

Tryouts, Team Crossover and More

Please contact the Varsity coach with questions about each team. The start date listed is for both JV and Varsity tryouts. All student-athletes are required to be present on the first day. The only exception to this policy is if a student-athlete is participating in a Tampa Prep sport in which the season has not concluded. If this is the case, no student-athlete will be allowed to start one Tampa Prep sport season until the previous one is completed. The student-athlete is responsible for communicating their intent with coaches of both sports prior to the end of the first season. If there are further questions about how to navigate this crossover, please contact Michael Flynn, Director of Athletics.

Start Dates

The start date listed is for both JV and Varsity tryouts. All student-athletes are required to be present on the first day. See "Tryouts, Team Crossover and More" for details.

FALL SPORTS

Volleyball Head Coach - Leanna Taylor volleyball@tampaprep.org
Start Date: July 31, 2017

Boys Golf Head Coach - Bruno Quattrone bquattrone@tampaprep.org
Start Date: July 31, 2017

Girls Golf Head Coach - Richard Veghte rveghtepga@gmail.com
Start Date: July 31, 2017

Cross Country Head Coach - Jon Noland jnoland@tampaprep.org
Start Date: July 31, 2017

Bowling Head Coach - Jason Zook jkzook@live.com
Start Date: July 31, 2017

Swim Dive Head Coach - Jason Bowes jasonbowes26@gmail.com
Start Date: August 7, 2017

WINTER SPORTS

Girls Soccer Head Coach - Santiago Carreno scarreno@tampaprep.org
Start Date: October 9, 2017

Boys Soccer Head Coach- Doug Smith dsmith@tampaprep.org
Start Date: October 16, 2017

Girls Basketball Head Coach - Erin Knight erinknight33@yahoo.com
Start Date: October 23, 2017

Boys Basketball Head Coach - Joe Fenlon jfenlon@tampaprep.org
Start Date: October 30, 2017

Wrestling Head Coach - Andy Bricker abricker@tampaprep.org
Start Date: November 6, 2017

SPRING SPORTS

Rowing Head Coach - Kelsey Franks rowing@tampaprep.org
Start Date: January 3, 2018

Boys Lacrosse Head Coach - Eric Snow esnow@tampaprep.org
Start Date: January 15, 2018

Softball Head Coach - Stephanie McKenzie stephmckenziebiz@gmail.com
Start Date: January 22, 2018

Track & Field Head Coach - Ryan Clements rclements@tampaprep.org
Start Date: January 22, 2018

Tennis Head Coach - Matt Holsopple mwholsopple@gmail.com
Start Date: January 22, 2018

Baseball Head Coach - AJ Hendrix ahendrix@tampaprep.org
Start Date: January 29, 2018